EnglishFrançais




Joignez-vous au débat en cours!

L'évolution du Canada se poursuit, mais les problèmes auxquels sa population est confrontée témoignent de désaccords anciens. Avant que chaque province ou territoire adhère à la Confédération canadienne, les membres de leurs assemblées législatives respectives (et de la Chambre des communes après 1867) ont débattu des objectifs et des principes de l'union politique, entre 1865 et 1949. Pour leur part, les Autochtones et les représentants de la Couronne ont négocié, entre 1871 et 1921, des traités numérotés déterminant les règles régissant les rapports entre ces groupes. Pour la première fois, les débats sur la Confédération réunissent l’ensemble des débats sur ce sujet et les rendent accessibles aux générations actuelles et futures de tous les âges. Nous créerons un site Web qui se retrouvera sur le site de l'université de Victoria où les utilisateurs pourront rechercher des textes et télécharger les livres électroniques ainsi que l’ensemble de la base de données. Nous allons également publier une citation du jour, qui provient d’un individu important, dans les deux langues officielles du Canada. Aussi, nous créerons du matériel pédagogique pour les enseignants des écoles secondaires.

Vous pouvez nous aider en vous joignant à une équipe de bénévoles qui transcrivent les documents pour les Canadiens du présent et du futur et qui partagent leurs connaissances sur les réseaux sociaux.

Étape 1 : Visionnez notre vidéo de démonstration

Apprenez comment nous aider en quelques minutes ?

Tout le monde peut aider à la préservation des archives canadiennes liées à la fondation du Canada. Nous avons traités tous les documents à l’aide d’un logiciel de reconnaissance de texte pour y rendre la recherche possible. Des Canadiens de partout au pays travaillent ensemble pour corriger les erreurs dans ces numérisations. Il est facile de rejoindre l’équipe. Pour débuter, visionnez notre vidéo de démonstration. 


Étape 2: Choisissez un débat qui vous intéresse

Livres débat

Entre 1865 et 1949, les débats de la Confédération ont eu lieu dans les les législatures provinciales, à la Chambre des Communes et durant la négociation des traités avec les Premières Nations. Parcourez les volumes ci-bas et choisissez une archive qui rejoint vos intérêts.

Colombie-Britannique - Conseil législatif

Lorsque le temps fut venu de négocier les termes de l'union de 1870, l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique a dû évaluer les bénéfices de rejoindre la Confédération et de construire un chemin de fer la reliant au reste du Canada. Une autre avenue aurait pu être de consolider ses liens avec les États-Unis. La meilleure option était évidente pour plusieurs.

Colombie-Britannique - Chambre des communes

La Colombie-Britannique a rejoint la Confédération en 1871. L'entente, qui incluait un chemin de fer transcontinental, n'était pas populaire chez tous les Canadiens. On peut lire ici les débats pour découvrir si les politiciens étaient en faveur de l'entente, en fonction de leur région.

Traité no. 8

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 8, négocié en 1899.

L’assemblée législative du Nord-Ouest

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest obtiennent le gouvernement responsable en 1897. Durant les années suivantes, l'assemblée législative, située à Regina, a demandé le statut de province de façon répétée. Ces débats sont parmi les plus passionnés de notre collection.

Alberta et Saskatchewan - Chambre des communes 1/2

Les provinces de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan ont été crées en 1905. Le débat à la Chambre des communes concernant leur création fut un des plus longs et déchirants dans l'histoire des débats de la Confédération. Première moitié.

Alberta et Saskatchewan - Chambre des communes 2/2

La deuxième moitié des débats de la Chambre des communes concernant l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan.

Traité no. 7

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 7, négocié en 1877.

Erasmus - Buffalo Days and Nights

Peter Erasmus était un traducteur métis qui parlait plus de six langues. Il a été engagé comme interprète par les chefs cris Mistawasis et Ahtahkakoop pour les négociations du Traité 6, qui ont eu lieu au Fort Carlton. Erasmus fut un des traducteurs les plus habiles, et ses compte-rendus représentent un témoignage marquant du processus.

Morris - The Treaties of Canada

Découvrez la négociation des Traités numérotés dans les années qui ont immédiatement suivi la Confédération en transcrivant les pages des témoignages d'Alexander Morris ou en corrigeant les erreurs de la transcription.

Traité no. 10

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 10, négocié en 1906.

Traité no. 6

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 6, négocié entre 1876 et 1878.

Traités nos 1 et 2

Cliquez ici pour lire les Traités 1 et 2, négociés en 1871.

Traité no. 4

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 4, négocié en 1874.

Traité no. 5

Cliquez ici pour lire le Traité 5, négocié en 1875.

Manitoba - La Grande Convention

Durant la résistance de la Rivière-Rouge, la Grande Convention se réunit pour envisager le futur du Manitoba. Ces débats ont été initialement compilés par Norma Hall et ont été offerts au projet par la Province du Manitoba.

Manitoba - l’Assemblée législative d’Assiniboia

L’Assemblée législative de l’Assiniboine a siégé de mars à juin 1870, après la Convention des 40, et a débattu sur le fait de rejoindre la confédération. Ces débats ont été initialement compilés par Norma Hall et ont été offerts au projet par la Province du Manitoba.

Manitoba - Les débats de la Chambre des Communes

Canada's House of Commons debated the Red River Resistance and the creation of Manitoba between 1869 and 1870.

Traité 3

Cliquez ici pour lire le texte du Traité 3, négocié en 1873.

Traité 9

Cliquez ici pour lire le texte du traité 9, négocié de 1905 à 1906 et de 1929 à 1930.

Les débats français Québec-Ontario

En 1865, Quebec et Ontario (Canada-Est et Canada-Ouest) possédent un corps législatif commun. Leur débat présente des arguments et critiques irréfutables des termes de l'union. Ceci est l'édition français du débat.

Ontario-Québec, le débat en anglais

L'Ontario et le Québec (ou le Canada-Ouest et le Canada-Est, tels que nommés à l'époque) avaient la même législature en 1865. Leurs débats sur les termes de l'union ont suscité des appuis et des critiques des plus intéressants. Ceci est la version anglophone du débat. La version francophone est publiée séparément.

Les débats du Nouveau-Brunswick

Seule province ayant rejeté la Confédération dans une élection, les débats du Nouveau-Brunswick entre 1865 et 1867 sont parmi les plus intéressants!

Les débats de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Après la défaite du gouvernement pro-confédération de Leonard Tilley en mars 1865, Charles Tupper et son gouvernement ont dû prendre des décisions stratégiques. Transcrivez ces documents pour apprendre comment Tupper et ses supporteurs ont su déjouer les opposants à la confédération.

Les débats de l'assemblée législative de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

La plupart des politiciens de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard étaient insatisfaits des termes de l'union de 1865, alors ils ont rejeté l'entente de la Confédération et attendaient une proposition plus intéressante. Lisez ces débats pour connaitre leurs demandes et découvrir si les politiciens ont su obtenir ce qu'ils voulaient.

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard à la Chambre des communes

Plusieurs années ont passé avant que l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ne rejoigne la Confédération. Lisez ces débats pour découvrir ce que le reste du pays pensait des demandes de cette petite île.

Les débats à la Chambre des communes concernant Terre-Neuve

Terre-Neuve a participé aux négociations de 1865, mais n'a pas rejoint la Confédération avant 1949. Les débats de la Chambre des Communes sur son entrée dans le Canada nous permettent de mieux comprendre comment la vision du pays concernant le Dominion de Terre-Neuve s'est modifiée dans le temps.

Traité 11

Cliquez ici pour lire le texte du Traité 11, négocié entre 1921 et 1922.

Étape 3 : Suivez votre progression sur notre tableau des réalisations

Les meilleurs transcripteurs

Les meilleurs transcripteurs des 7 derniers jours
Nom des transcripteursPages transcrites
Les meilleurs transcripteurs de tous les temps
Nom des transcripteursPages transcrites

Activité récente


Rejoignez la discussion!

EnglishFrançais




Join the Ongoing Debate!

Canada continues to evolve with each passing day, but many of the issues we face resemble or were impacted by past struggles. Before each province and territory became a part of Canada, their local legislatures (and the House of Commons after 1867) debated the extent, purposes, and principles of political union between 1865 and 1949. From 1871 to 1921, Indigenous Peoples and Crown officials also negotiated Numbered Treaties that committed both parties to lasting relationships. The Confederation Debates brings all of these debates together for the first time, and makes them accessible to present and future generations of all ages through a website permanently hosted by the University of Victoria where users can search the texts, ebooks, and "quotes of the day" in both official languages, as well as download grade 7/8 and high school lesson plans that cater to each provinces’ history and curriculum.

You can contribute to the ongoing debates by transcribing documents for present and future Canadians, and by sharing what you learn on social media.

Step 1: Watch our How-To Video

Learn How to Help in Minutes

Anyone can help preserve Canada's founding records. We've run all of the documents through software to turn them into searchable text. Canadians from across the country are working together to correct errors in these scans. Joining the team is easy. To begin, watch our short how-to video.

Step 2: Pick a Debate that Interests You

Debate Volumes

Between 1865 and 1949, Canada's Confederation debates took place in local legislatures, in the House of Commons, and during Treaty negotiations with Indigenous Peoples. Browse the volumes below and find a record that interests you.

British Columbia - Legislative Council

When considering the negotiated terms of union in 1870, British Columbia's Legislative Assembly weighed the merits of joining Confederation and securing a rail link to the rest of Canada against pursuing closer ties with the US. For many, the best choice was far from obvious.

British Columbia - House of Commons Debates

British Columbia entered Confederation in 1871. The deal, including a transcontinental railway, was not popular with all Canadians. Read the debates to find out whether politicians from your area supported the terms of union.

Treaty 8

Click here to read the text of Treaty 8, negotiated in 1899.

North-West Legislative Assembly

The North-West secured responsible local government in 1897. During the years that followed, its Legislative Assembly, located in Regina, repeatedly demanded provincial status for the region. These debates are some of the most vehement in our collection.

Alberta and Saskatchewan - House of Commons Debates 1/2

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were both created in 1905. The debate in the House of Commons concerning their creation was one of the longest and most heated in the history of the Confederation Debates. First Half.

Alberta and Saskatchewan - House of Commons Debates 2/2

The second half of the House of Commons' debates concerning Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Treaty 7

Click here to read the text of Treaty 7, negotiated in 1877.

Erasmus - Buffalo Days and Nights

Peter Erasmus was a Métis translator who spoke over six different languages. Hired by Cree Chiefs Mistawasis and Ahtahkakoop as an interpreter for the Treaty 6 negotiations at Fort Carlton. Erasmus was one of the most capable translators present, and his account remains a critical record of the proceedings.

Morris - The Treaties of Canada

Learn about the negotiation of the Numbered Treaties on the Canadian Prairies in the years that immediately followed Confederation by transcribing pages from Alexander Morris' first-hand account.

Treaty 10

Click here to read the text of Treaty 10, negotiated in 1906.

Treaty 6

Click here to read the text of Treaty 6, negotiated between 1876 and 1878.

Treaties 1 and 2

Click here to read the text of Treaties 1 and 2, negotiated in 1871.

Treaty 4

Click here to read the text of Treaty 4, negotiated in 1874.

Treaty 5

Click here to read the text of Treaty 5, negotiated in 1875.

Manitoba - The Convention of Forty

The Council of 40 convened during the Red River Resistance to consider the future of Manitoba. These debates were originally compiled by Norma Hall and are provided to this project by the Province of Manitoba.

Manitoba - Legislative Assembly of Assiniboia

Between March and June 1870, Manitoba was governed by the Legislative Assembly of Assiniboia. It debated many things, including whether Manitoba should enter Confederation as a province. The text full text was compiled by Norma Jean Hall and can be read at https://www.gov.mb.ca/ana/major-initiatives/pubs/laa%20debates.pdf.

Manitoba - House of Commons Debates

Canada's House of Commons debated the Red River Resistance and the creation of Manitoba between 1869 and 1870.

Treaty 3

Click here to read the text of Treaty 3, negotiated in 1873.

Treaty 9

Click here to read the text of Treaty 9, negotiated from 1905 to 1906 and 1929 to 1930.

Les débats français Québec-Ontario

En 1865, le Québec et l’Ontario (le Canada-Est et le Canada-Ouest) sont regroupés au sein d’une seule colonie dotée d’une Assemblée législative. Les débats parlementaires présentent des arguments favorables et critiques du projet de Confédération. Ceci est l'édition française des débats. L'édition anglaise est aussi disponible.

Ontario-Quebec English Debates

Ontario and Quebec (or as they were then known, Canada-West and Canada-East) shared common legislatures in 1865. Their debate of the terms of union provides some of the most compelling defences and critiques of the terms of union. This is the English edition of the debate. The French debate is posted separately.

New Brunswick Debates

The only province to reject Confederation in an election, New Brunswick's debates between 1865 and 1867 are among the most exciting!

Nova Scotia Debates

After the fall of Leonard Tilley's pro-Confederation government in New Brunswick in March 1865, Charles Tupper and his government treaded carefully. Transcribe these documents to learn how Tupper and his supporters kept the anti-Confederates from gaining the upper hand.

Prince Edward Island - Legislative Assembly Debates

Most of Prince Edward Island's politicians were unsatisfied by the 1865 terms of union, so they initially rejected Confederation and held out for better terms. Read these debates to learn about the Island's demands, as well as whether its politicians succeed in getting what they wanted.

Prince Edward Island - House of Commons

Several years passed before Prince Edward Island joined Confederation. Read these debates to learn what the rest of the country thought about the small island's demands.

Newfoundland - Legislative Assembly Debates

Newfoundland was one of the provinces that rejected Confederation during the 1860s. Over the years, its legislature debated the controversial question several times.

Newfoundland National Convention Pt 1

Newfoundland suffered immense hardship during the 1930s, and was subsequently governed by a commission of government supported by the British parliament. After the Second World War, it was time for Newfoundland to determine its political future. The National Convention, which sat from 1946 to 1948, investigated virtually every aspect of Newfoundland's situation, and debate whether to join Confederation. These records were edited by J.K. Hiller and M.F. Harrington.

Newfoundland National Convention Pt 2

The second half of the National Convention's debates concerning Newfoundland's future. These records were edited by J.K. Hiller and M.F. Harrington.

Newfoundland - House of Commons Debates

Newfoundland participated in the 1865 negotiations, but did not join Confederation until 1949. The House of Commons' debates on Newfoundland's entry provide interesting insights into how the rest of Canada's views on the Atlantic Dominion shifted over time.

Yukon Territory

The federal government created the Yukon Territory in 1898. Before this period, the region had been part of the Northwest Territory and, therefore, did not debate its separation. These documents track the creation of the Yukon and its eventual achievement of responsible government.

Treaty 11

Click here to read the text of Treaty 11, negotiated between 1921 and 1922.

Step 3: Track your Progress on our Achievement Charts

Top Transcribers

Top Transcribers of the Last 7 Days
Transcriber NamePages Transcribed
Top Transcribers of All Time
Transcriber NamePages Transcribed

Recent Activity


Join the Discussion!